Skip to content

Tasting Toronto: Ciao, The Rebel House, Luma @ Lightbox

February 2, 2011

This picture is pretty unfair, because it is a crepe from a creperie in France (Le Beaurepaire if you are ever in Lille). I couldn’t find any great pictures of anything mentioned below, and, this might have been one of the single greatest things I have ever eaten. Goat cheese. Crepe. Café Viennois. So hungover. Heaven.

I digress.

If you are in the Yorkville area, check out Ciao Wine Bar for a posh(erish) drink and/or delicious meal. Loved.It. The service was awesome, quick, and the food was delicious.

The Rebel House Pub is a place my brother frequents but I had never checked out. If you around Yorkville, walk the extra couple of blocks north on Yonge for great food in an unpretentious setting.

If you are in the King West area, here are two places not to eat at. I feel bad saying that. Anyways: went to Luma (in the Lightbox) – the service was very friendly but we waited an hour and a half for food that was just so-so, and, it wasn’t that busy.

I’m really not trusting Urban Spoon these days (or ever) – myself and my sister ventured to Politica after seeing the 87% recommendation; it was a really lovely ambiance, (so drinks could an excellent option) but, the food wasn’t out of this world by any means.

Places I’ve been meaning to try:

La Hacienda @ Queen West

– Apparently unbelievable Mexican

Rawlicious @ Yorkville

-This was actually the original plan before Ciao, but, it was decided that hot food was necessary given the ridiculously cold weather.

Grapefruit moon @ Bathurst

-I walked by here the other day and it looked like a very relaxed place for a coffee or whatnot.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

